camarogrl86's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Family Will Fuck You Over First?

Current Song: "When She Says Baby" - Jason Aldean

It's amazing, the last people you should expect to screw you over is family...but I guess it could actually be the most common group of people to do so. I can't believe the lies and avoidance going on, as well as the complete lack of responsibility that is being shown this past month.

I noticed my brother was talking about the Acura I let him use for school back in 2008 or 2009 to save fuel. He dropped out of college shortly after that, but I continued to let him use the car. In March 2012 he wrecked it - technically totaled it - and we agreed that when the insurance company gave him $2200 to total it out, he would give me the $1000 we paid for it and keep $1200 for himself. Somewhere along the way, my dad ended up taking the "fix it" payout of $1700 and spent all of it repairing the car. That summer my brother gave me $500 towards buying it off me. I was quite impressed, honestly. He told me he would pay me the rest when he could. For nearly 2 years, I've been patient with that. I know he has a shitty part time job with next to no hours; I know North Carolina has a shitty unemployment rate in comparison to the rest of the country... because of this, I didn't push it all that hard.

Fast forward to right around Christmas. I noticed he was talking about driving the Monte Carlo again, because the Acura was having an issues - probably a distributor problem, which is common in those model Acuras. He spent a week without a car, riding to work with my dad and getting picked up by my mom at night. My dad told me he was parking the Acura out back under the carport, so I offered to come pick it up at Christmas and bring my brother the $500 he gave me in 2012. I sent the email and five days of silence went by, which was unusual. On Christmas I called the house - Colin and I decided to deep fry a turkey at home that had been injected with Frank's Red Hot for 2� days prior to cooking; we both had to work the 26th so we tentatively planned to go to NC on the following Saturday. After about 15-20 minutes, I asked about my email.

My dad said "You aren't going to like my response...your brother sold the car." Oh I was mad. It had been gone for nearly a week at that point he said - a guy my brother worked with that kept bugging him about the car bought it .... for $500. I did notice my brother was going shopping, getting a manicure, eating out a lot around that time. My dad told me it cost him $500 to register the Monte and get it "road ready." I was livid that no one thought to call me and say "Hey, I know he owes you money on this car still, would it be okay to sell it?"

I've reiterated this a few times, and last night I finally asked my brother if he was ready to set up a payment plan for the remaining $500. He barely spoke to me since I've found out, not even tagging me in things on Facebook anymore until about two days ago. He responded, basically telling me that the car was his because it was in his name, and due to maintaining it for the last 5 years, he feels he owes me nothing. But I ask you, if he was driving the Monte, he would have maintained that... it's part of owning/driving a car... Just because I maintain my Mustang doesn't mean the dealership would waive the rest of what I owe. And the only reason the car is even in his name is because it had to be titled in NC, and when he got too many speeding tickets and insurance was threatening to drop him, he had to put it in his name on his own policy. Oh I was livid all over again.

Went outside and called their house, my mom answered. I told her I needed to have it out with her other child about this car. She did tell me she would take out a $500 loan to pay me, but the point isn't to make HER pickup after my brothers messes yet again or put her in a bad spot, it's the principle and responsibility of it all that my brother should have. He's 24, not 12. Needs to start acting like an adult. My mom told me she wasn't going to take sides, just remain neutral like Switzerland, and can see both sides of the coin.... Yes my brother is in debt, but he put himself there. Yes he doesn't get paid diddly, but that was his choice to work there all this time, and not go back to school/finish it. He owes my mom $84/week and doesn't pay her that. Every credit card is maxed out.

AND to top it off, all this time, my dad has told me he had nothing to do with it, he only found out when the guy came to pick it up, etc. My mom told me that he was the one sitting at the table that told my brother to sell it ASAP because it would cost $300+ to fix. Whaaaaaat? Grrrr. Colin is so irritated with it now too. He's not going to say anything, since it's not his fight, but it bothers him that he's blatantly lied to me. He also said it would hurt him if my mom lied to me too, especially because the last few times we've been around, and she came here, relationships all around seemed to improve.

I am just so mentally tired with it all right now. Lynn tells me not to let $500 come between family, but you know what, THEY'RE letting it happen like it is nothing. I think it's been a year or more since we've actually visited. We've been to Charlotte a few times, staying Uptown and going to the EpiCentre, enjoying "city life" for a night, and drove back to Charleston without a word.

Ah well, I guess such is life. My dad still hasn't replied to the email I sent 3-4 days ago, which is what happened when I asked where the car was, and now that I've talked to my mom I'm sure it'll be quiet again. I am ready for a relaxing weekend full of reading; maybe some crabbing on Sunday? It's going to be 65 and sunny - what the hell is up with that? Two days ago it was 17�F here (and I loved every second).

2:57 p.m. - 2014-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

as-i-know-it
loveherwell
dangerspouse
swallowthkey
n-poledancer
PoisonGirl86
cayse
vacantlegend
se7enchance
painful-love
jetton
rancidchick
darkness16
bloodyscars