camarogrl86's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Been a long time

And again, Diaryland, it has been quite some time. Nearly a year since my last update. I promise myself every update that I�m going to do better by you, and I haven�t. So much has changed again since the last time.

In December 2012, I went for an interview at a courier company as an operations supervisor part time from 2:30-7:30pm Monday through Friday. Unemployment was supposedly going to be running out in December, so I was jumping on more than just the things I was holding out for. This place was part of the transportation and logistics circle though. The interview went fine, and within two hours they called to hire me. I started on January 2nd, 2013. The beginning wasn�t bad � I could still sleep in and have lunch with Colin every day, I only had to work during the week, and I started at $12.50/hr. Part time it did not equate to much. Unemployment actually continued to pay me some money every week because I made more money doing nothing than I did actually working. Soon though, I got tired of being there.

At the end of January, I received a call from an intermodal trucking company that wanted to see if I was interested in a dispatcher position. It was incredibly random, and I had not applied for it. It seemed like an opportunity that fell from the sky. A Mon-Fri, 8-5 job. I was excited, and went to my interview. The guy told me if I wanted the job, it was mine. So I gave my 1-week notice, because they needed me to start ASAP. I found out, during a Saturday training session, that the manager got my resume from a friend who was hiring their dispatcher. She had tried to get me a job with her, but they wanted someone with more experience. I began working half days the following week at the new place, Mason Dixon Intermodal. My first day was slow. I remembered to check the system to make sure the payroll was right, and waited for emails and something to do. It was slow going. The next day, some girl randomly showed up, supposedly to train me. I started getting a little worried at that point, as she had worked there in the past. I asked the manager if I had anything to worry about, and he assured me I did not. That Wednesday, I had a nervous breakdown on the way in. I was bawling, and freaking out. Colin had to talk me off a mental ledge for over an hour. I went inside, things were fine for the first hour or so, then I was called into the manager�s office. He told me that after conferring with his partner, he did not have room for two of us to work there and had to let me go due to the other girl having experience. I was somewhat prepared for it, especially after seeing the other girl change the email to her name and signature and telling people she worked there again. I didn�t show him much emotion, but when I left, I called Colin in tears, crushed.
Later that night, at ICS, one of the managers asked me how the new job was going. I told him it wasn�t anymore, and he asked if I wanted to stay on while they searched for a replacement for me. I had been applying like crazy to other places and had heard nothing back, so it was better than being unemployed with NO income. They gave me a two-week notice near the end of February. I still hadn�t found another job, and then found out they were offering a full time operations position with day time hours, even though they told me they didn�t have any. They did hire me on for the full time position, which turned out to be more than just being an operations person at the office. They were short on drivers because they couldn�t keep them long enough, and me and the other operations guy had to make deliveries every day. They had to send me to Walterboro AND Summerville daily, which got tiring quick. Walterboro was two hours of just driving to and from. After less than a month, I was already itching to quit.

At the end of March, I saw a job posted on Craigslist I had seen earlier in the year and never heard back on. It was for a terminal support coordinator at Boasso America. It sounded like the perfect job for me to gain experience in my field, and it was at a trucking company! I filled out an application on site and made myself known this time. I got a call back for an interview within 20 minutes of leaving. The next day, my manager at ICS said that I left my personal email up and they were going through my sent box and saw all the places I applied to�they failed to pay attention to the date I sent them. I was LIVID. They said that they even took a picture and forwarded it to all the managers. So I told my manager that I was going on an interview that day because I was over it.

Went on the interview, and it lasted 2� hours. I used TR�s name as a name-drop on references because I knew he worked with Jack, the terminal manager, in the past. And TR was someone who knew how fast I picked up on things because of my time volunteering at Snider. It lasted 2� hours and I was feeling positive but afraid to get my hopes up. Over Easter weekend, I had a stomach virus that left me in bed for 3 days. On April Fool�s Day, Jack called me and said the job was mine I if I wanted it. Hells yes I did!! I emailed ICS my notice that day from home, and gave them a week. I received a not so nice email back from my manager the following day when I went in. I basically told him he was lucky I showed up at all that day and didn�t just quit, I was so far over that place.


~*~*~*~
Well now it�s time to leave work and go help Colin with his math homework before we pre-bowl tonight. I�ll have to pick up where I left off tomorrow.

4:56 p.m. - 2013-10-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

as-i-know-it
loveherwell
dangerspouse
swallowthkey
n-poledancer
PoisonGirl86
cayse
vacantlegend
se7enchance
painful-love
jetton
rancidchick
darkness16
bloodyscars