camarogrl86's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

School Is Cool, Kids

"I Dont Want This Night to End" - Luke Bryan

(Yes, I'm on a Luke Bryan kick. As soon as I get paid again, I am buying "Tailgates & Tan Lines" and "Crash My Party" so I can get my fix in the car without using my phone. I am not one to really think celebrities are good looking, but I can make this single exception - he is slightly delicious).

SCHOOOL!!!! Just when you think you're escaping it (nearly 10 years ago, dear lord...where has time gone?), there is college. Talk about a career college student ... I've been at Trident Tech for 8 years this year. I'll have graduated before my 8 year "anniversary", but I began classes in August 2006, 1 day after starting work at GEL. From August 2006 - December 2008, I was an automotive technology major, taking my core courses. From January 2009 - August 2012, I was a chemistry major. Two failed attempts at MAT110 and a layoff from the lab later... August 2012 brought my newest and final major into view - Management in Transportation & Logistics. There's been a couple breaks in between those years (2008 when I got married and had a house built, and the end of 2011 and beginning of 2012 when Rob and I split/Colin and I were getting settled).

I never thought I'd want to major in management. Hell, I used to find it one of the most boring options and wondered what kind of stuffy people wanted to wear business suits and focus on that. I realize now that it can be more laid back than that, and also be all sorts of different kinds of positions. I LOVE my major now, and am set for graduating - FINALLY - in April of this year. It would have been December 2013 but I dropped an online class in the summer last year because the teacher didn't have great sentence structure (and I already have had one moron instructor way too much in this path), then they didn't offer the course again until this month. I'm okay with it though...just 3 months to go!! Then I'll pursue a certificate in Intermodal Transportation from College of Charleston, while figuring out where to get a Bachelors degree.

I think I'm just going to have to go ahead and run shit. I tell people I'm going to start a trucking company that will get so big, people will say "U.S. Xpress, who?" Hah! Except trucks are expensive...so it'd be a slow-go being as I'm not independently (or even dependently) wealthy.

One more semester. Three more months. Then I can proudly say I accomplished a degree in college. It may have taken almost 8 years. It may only been as Associates of Applied Sciences. But it is a degree. It is an accomplishment. And it will go on my resume and look better than just a HS Diploma completed in 2005.

Focus, focus, focus. No more skipping class, or procrastinating on assignments. New year, new schedule, new determination in school, work, and cars.

11:49 a.m. - 2014-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

as-i-know-it
loveherwell
dangerspouse
swallowthkey
n-poledancer
PoisonGirl86
cayse
vacantlegend
se7enchance
painful-love
jetton
rancidchick
darkness16
bloodyscars